Tags

, , , , , ,

ORIGINS CLEANSING OILCLEANSING BALM

What’s all this hype about cleansing oils and cleansing balms, you ask?  I asked, I tried, and I love.  If you read any beauty blogs or watch Youtube videos, you will hear others say they don’t want to use something oily to cleanse their face.  That was where they hesitated.  I, personally, LOVED the idea of using an oil on my face because old man winter was taking a toll on my skin causing dryness, just as he does every year. 

My first experience with cleansing oil was with Origins Clean Energy.  You may read more about it here:  http://www.origins.com/product/3853/12191/Skincare/Daily-Essentials/Cleansers/Clean-Energy/Gentle-cleansing-oil/index.tmpl.  Can we just talk for a minute about how much I love Origins?!  I love going in my local store.  It smells amazing, feels relaxing, and their customer service has always been superb.  Needless to say, I get sucked in every time I go in…  I walk out with a huge bag thinking, “what all did I just buy?”  Origins really deserves a post all of their own, so I will stop there.  If you don’t have a local store, you may order online.  I’ve had great experiences with that, as well.  Plus, they always give out nice freebies or samples! 

Ok, so….this oil.  I bought it and immediately fell in love.  The smell reminds me of an expensive spa somewhere in the French Riviera.  I’ve never been to one, but that’s what I imagine they would smell like.  It’s calming, doesn’t burn my eyes, and literally dissolves all of my makeup in seconds.  I love using this at night because of the relaxing smell.  I find my skin and myself saying, “aahhhhhh that’s better…”  You can wipe this off with a dry flannel, but I prefer a damp washcloth.  I don’t care for the way flannels feel on my face.  It doesn’t foam, but your face feels clean afterwards.  However, it doesn’t feel stripped or dry like some cleansers can make them feel.  It’s also really moisturizing given that it’s an oil, but you don’t feel greasy.  Just plump, hydrated, clean, and relaxed.  Dear Origins, please don’t ever stop making this cleanser.  Love, Shana.

Next in line is a cleansing balm.  It’s cheaper than the Origins cleanser and I really love it.  My wallet loves it too.  It’s made by Boots and is called Botanics Organic Hot Cloth Cleansing Balm.  I get mine at Target, but you can also buy it online here:  http://www.target.com/p/boots-botanics-organic-hot-cloth-cleansing-balm-2-3-oz/-/A-14497808#prodSlot=medium_1_24&term=boots%20botanics.  It, too, has a very relaxing spa like smell that’s borderline lemony.  I scoop some out and rub it into my skin kind of like moisturizer.  It’s oily just like the cleansing oil, but it dissolves all of my makeup in seconds.  I must note…I use these two as my second cleanse.  I wash my face first with Lacura facial wash, but that too, deserves a post of its own.  Then, I follow with one of these.  I have used them on their own, but the Lacura works better at removing my eye makeup and I swear there’s something in it that makes my eyelashes grow.  Anyhow, the balm…  It’s amazing, cheap, and worth a try.  Some say it’s too oily, but I love it.  It’s just the right amount of oil…not a greasy mess, but yet enough to be really moisturizing.  Again, I am left with hydrated and smooth skin. 

I wasn’t sure what the hype was all about when I first heard about these kinds of cleansers, but being the product junkie that I am…I had to jump on the bandwagon.  I will continue to buy them both because I truly love them equally and I really look forward to using one of them every night.  Those are the kinds of products you want in your life…ones that excite you, make you happy, and simply make you feel relieved just by grabbing the jar.  For silky skin, give them a go….  Some run from the word, “oil”, but I happen to embrace it in the winter.  Dryness be gone, hello gorgeous and glowing skin.  Let me know what you think if you try them!

xo,

Shana

