Those aren’t words…I know.  I made them up.  But, I’ve found myself saying them a lot lately.  What I’ve come to realize is that it simply doesn’t matter what you shoulda, woulda, coulda done…it matters what you do NOW. 

It’s amazing how you learn things about yourself *and* others when you change your surroundings…when you ignore the negativity that some people can shell into your life and focus on the positive.  Simple concept, but so hard to do at times.  We get into the ditches of life, we cross paths that aren’t very travelled, and we dream about times in our past when we should have accomplished more.  Well, here’s one critic to another…you can’t go back in time.  You can’t change your past.  You won’t accomplish anything by sitting around w a confused mind and worrying about your lack of interest 10 years ago….one that led you to the pathway of your here and now…one that makes you look at yourself in the mirror and say, “here’s your chance babe…go get ’em”

I have written about removing myself from negative situations, which leads me to wanting to remove negative people from my life.  It isn’t that I don’t care, it isn’t that I don’t love them…there just comes a time when you must draw a line in the sand to protect yourself.  What you constantly hear and tell yourself; your sub-concious believes. 

I see myself as a realist.  100%.  I don’t like change and am very much a creature of habit.  BUT, having said that…I do adapt quickly to my surroundings.  This means, I’d rather be in a positive environment because I certainly don’t want to dwell or adapt to the opposite of that.  I had to realize after much soul searching, that you don’t have to stop caring just because you distance yourself from those that aren’t healthy for you.  I don’t walk around w rose colored glasses…TRUST ME, but I can choose to surround myself w amazing people and those that truly support me, rather than those that find fault in everything I do or say. 

Please don’t beat yourself up over the shoulda, woulda, coulda situations.  I have been doing that for 10 years and it truly is an awful feeling.  God has given you open windows; you just have to look up and be willing to see them.  Fill your heart with hope.  Chase after your dreams.  Allow yourself to make mistakes.  It’s okay.  This life isn’t about regrets…at least it shouldn’t be.  It should be precious.  It should be amazing.  It should be yours to fulfill.  Don’t turn toward your past; you aren’t going that direction.  Be you in this moment; change yourself in the here and now.  Much love.

 

xo,

 

Shana

